Local sports heroes recognised at awards ceremony

Sporting heroes from around Sutherland were recognised at an awards ceremony at Dunrobin Castle last month (Thursday 22 August 2019).

The Sutherland Sports Council Awards are presented annually to high achieving sports people from around the county.

Winners and their families were welcomed by Sutherland Sports Council chairman Ewen Pryde. The awards were presented by Lady Strathnaver.

Rogart’s Parakayaker Hope Gordon and Edderton’s hill and fell runner Ross Gollan took home the awards for excellence. Both represent their sports at national level. Hope could not attend in person as she was competing that evening with Team GB in Hungary.

The achievements of young female athletes were recognised with a number of awards.

Dornoch swimmer Elise Cosens, Scotland’s fastest 13 year old; Edderton cross country runner Alyth Gollan, highly ranked in the Scottish national series; Doll’s all-rounder Erin Johnstone who competes for Sutherland Ladies football team and Dornoch’s Hannah Chisholm for outstanding horsemanship, all took home awards.

Sutherland’s young male athletes were also recognised, with awards made to Brora Downhill Mountain Biker Lewis Duncan, narrowly missing out on top place in the Scottish championships; Brora Karting Jack Mackay, who continues to compete successfully after enduring rigorous fitness training to recover from injury in the Super Series Championships; Golspie Club Champion golfer Danny Doogan, school representative at both the Highland and Scottish Schools Golf Championships; Golspie All Rounder Fergus Macdonald, school representative across a number of sports including rugby and athletics; Golspie sports leader Keegan Campbell, volunteering with primary school competitions and badminton club; Golspie swimmer Andrew Macrae, gaining maximum points in a recent meet in Ullapool; and Brora cyclocross and mountain biker Roane Campbell, representing East Sutherland Wheelers in the North Dirt Crit and Cyclocross series.

Service to sport awards went to Brora runner and cyclist Alan Cockburn for his club volunteering roles and Alexander “Sonny” Jappy for his continuing support to football, Highland Games and cross country events.

Three quaichs, one each for Golspie, Brora and Rogart, donated by the Kilbraur Wind Farm Community Benefit Trust, were also presented on the night. Since the Trust was established in 2010 by wind farm owner Falck Renewables it has made awards of funding to local sports clubs, totalling £299,246.

The Brora Quaich went to George Duncan for being instrumental in bringing junior downhill mountain biking to the county. The Rogart Quaich was awarded to swimmer and GB Parakayaker Hope Gordon and Golspie Rowing Club over 50s world skiff champions took home the Golspie Quaich.

The full list of winners is:
Female excellence award
Hope Gordon – Parakayaking
Male excellence award
Ross Gollan – Hill and fell running
Junior Female
Alyth Gollan – Cross country running
Erin Johnstone – All rounder
Hannah Chisholm – Horse Riding
Elise Cosens – Swimming
Junior Male
Lewis Duncan – Downhill Mountain Biking
Jack Mackay – Karting
Danny Doogan – Golf
Fergus Macdonald – All rounder
Keegan Campbell – Volunteering
Andrew Macrae – Swimming
Roanne Campbell – Mountain biking and cyclocross
Service to Sport
Alan Cockburn – Running and Cycling
Alexander “Sonny” Jappy – Football, Highland Games and
Cross Country
Golspie Quaich
Golspie Rowing Club – Over 50s Skiff World Champions
Rogart Quaich
Hope Gordon – GB Parakayaking
Brora Quaich
George Duncan – Introducing Junior Downhill Mountain Biking to the county

(in the picture above Lady Strathnaver giving a Golspie Quaich to George Duncan).